Member Spotlight: Anne Widdop, Founder and CEO of Fuze Tech Services and The VR Hive

Our Member Spotlights are a place for us to find out a little bit more about the awesome individuals who make up The Data Lab Community - their background, the challenges they've faced, the values they hold, and their top tips for other members. This week, we caught up with Anne Widdop, Founder and CEO of Fuze Tech Services and The VR Hive

Hi Anne! Can you tell us a bit about your background?

I have over 30 years experience working in business and technology - with experience ranging from small enterprises to some of the world’s largest companies. I joined IBM in the 90’s and enjoyed a very successful career rising to a senior position. In 2012, I left my role as a Global Director to start up my own business – Fuze Tech Services. I have always tried to balance my corporate responsibilities with unpaid work, and I've held a number of high profile positions: as vice-chair of a UK governmental advisory body on Women in Science, Engineering and Technology (SET); I established and chaired the Scottish Women in SET at Napier University and Chaired the Helix Trust (£43M Urban Transformation project) which delivered the world famous Kelpies. I'm also a passionate advocate for the Highlands, where I live, and for start-up companies.

What's the biggest challenge that you've faced in the last year? 

In the last year I've pivoted my business significantly, in order to save jobs. I am driving a new initiative called The VR Hive. It's been really challenging raising the funds needed and I'm just at the start of the journey. 

The VR hub delivers soft skill training through virtual reality - why do you think this is so important?